You want music industry advice? Here’s my shot at it.

I get questions just about everyday since I got the Warped Tour pit reporter position. Tons of people ask how I got the job, what sort of experience I have, how can they get into the music industry, how can they shoot photos at concerts, so on and so fourth. I hope this will be useful, and I hope that something can be learned I suppose. I have a feeling this will get a little lengthy, but how to try and start a career can’t be answered easily. Also keep in mind this is how it worked for me. Some people work their ass off to get into the music business and some people are lucky. I’m a little of both.

I got interested in the whole idea of the music business when I started going to concerts in 2003. I was 14. I knew I had to be a part of it. Knowing how I felt seeing my favorite bands on stage and how much all of that meant to me, I just wanted to do whatever I could to make other people feel the same way. First word of advice- it’s never too early to get started. At 15, me and my friend created a website where we posted alternative music news and covered local shows and bands. It wasn’t fancy, but it was something. And really, that’s when the networking started. I met K-1 Royal(a member of which is my best friend today) and got involved helping them out. I booked some shows, did promotion, did photography, put together a press kit, let them practice in my garage for 2 years- whatever I thought would help them out. I believed in them. Truth be told if they didn’t break up, there’s no doubt they could have been big. Regardless, my time in high school was dedicated to those guys and I loved every second of it. When you are young, pay attention because there’s where it starts. Every band ever started out local. Get to know those guys, ask how you can help. At local shows, asked who booked them. Talk to the venue, rec center, church or whoever booked it how you can help out, too. You’ll learn to look at the audience of the show and how you can reach them. Say at a show, you see a group of kids you always see hanging out at the coffee shop. You can easily deduct that a flier in the coffee shop is going to help promote a show similar to that. It’s simple and may seem silly, but that’s where it all begins.

Now, alot of people ask me if they think college is necessary or helpful to the music industry. There is an argument that the time you spend in college, you could be making connections and working your way up. That is true. What do I really think? College prepares you for bigger things sooner. It’s expensive, most classes are stupid but I don’t think college is really just about academics. For me personally, I didn’t have anything else in mind when I finished high school. I say if you are serious, after high school, look for an internship or go to college. If you don’t wind up with something, go to college. You will have crazy opportunities that you can’t get anywhere else. I went to James Madison University in Harrisonburg,VA. I was a Media Art and Design major with a concentration in Corporate Communication with a Music Industry minor. My second semester in college, through some “activities orientation” or whatever it is they make you attend to discover all of their clubs, I got involved with the University Program Board. They did all of the big concerts and event planning for the campus. I saw they had booked Taking Back Sunday with Jimmy Eat World the year before so I was sold. I volunteered on the committee, then next year applied for marketing chair. My very good friend Chris was the Director and I asked tons of questions. I followed everything he did, spent alot of time in the office with him planning. I applied for his job and got it the next year in college. As the Director of Center Stage, I oversaw a 40 person committee, arranged hospitality, organized volunteers, security, ticket takers, will call, planned and executed marketing and promotional strategies- everything to make the show happen. I got to book Gym Class Heroes for a 3200 capacity venue which is the height of my college career. If I didn’t go to JMU, there is NO way I would have learned that much- but I only learned that much because I was hungry for it. I wanted to know how everything ran so I put myself in that position. You can’t wait for everyone to tell you everything. 75% of it is asking questions and figuring it out.

During college I also worked at Hot Topic and a bar/coffee house. This was on top of all of my activities with the program board. They may seem like stupid jobs, but I learned to make everything an opportunity. Hot Topic to me became more than a retail job. It was a chance to talk music with different kids every day. I learned to listen to different music. I kept up with CD releases and up and coming bands to stay up to date with the kids that shopped there. I also went to shows to do fashion reports for our district. It helped determine not just what “styles” were good in our area, but what bands were more popular geographically. Also what other music people were in aside from the band that was playing. At the Artful Dodger, the bar/coffee house, I took advantage of the PA we had and spoke to the owner to book shows. Some went better than others, but I booked a show every single week for months. I started paying attention to bands tour routing to do one-offs, I learned more about negotiating deals (within a very, very small budget I may add) and turned the place into a venue. When I graduated, I took the initiative to make sure shows kept happening. I set up a meeting with our Music Industry head about setting up an internship. I made the little proposal, made the application and voila! I made my own internship. The 2 girls I hired to keep booking then got college credit *and* shows kept happening. It was all just a way to figure out how I could keep in touch with the industry on some level. I never stopped.

The question asked most: how did you get your job? Before I really get into this, I think that no matter how prepared you are, luck plays a role. So I worked my ass off. In college I learned everything I could about the concert industry. In my music industry classes, I was all about learning royalties, management, labels, etc, etc. At the time I graduated, I felt like I was ready for any job I could grab in the industry so it was a matter of finding it. This is where luck plays a big role. The best you can do is keep your eyes open all the time and know where to look. You never know what you may find. The easiest way to start is by looking up things about your favorite bands. Who manages them and what company does that person work for? What label are they on and are they associated with any other labels? Do they have sponsorships? Are there other projects going on involving that band? When you find out those things, you should probably start following them. I loved Say Anything, right? Looking more into them, I found out they were managed by Randy Nichols. Randy works for Red Light Management. Randy also managed The Starting Line and Underoath. It’s good to know these things- as well as interesting. I think it can only put you in a better position. Anyway, by following these labels and companies, you never know what could pop up. That being said, I got my job with Warped through Twitter. Just because I was following the @warped09 account, I saw the post that they needed a new pit reporter. It linked back to the website. They accepted the first 250 applicants and you had to send a resume, video, photography and a short essay. They called me about 2 weeks later. I DID NOT know anyone with 4Fini (Kevin Lyman’s company) or Vans- I am asked that often, too. I will say however, alot of people get started just by knowing people. Most bands getting started take a friend out to do merch, said band blows up and now the merch guy has met other people on tour who may want him. A big part is about knowing people- which is why I said it’s never too early to start networking and building those skills- just don’t overlook luck being on your side.

This job popped up right in front of me only 2 months after I graduated college. I never expected to fall into this, but it happened. And because I spent the time trying to understand everything that I could and prepared myself, I could do my job better. I used more of my Corporate Communication coursed than I ever thought. I could help with marketing and I could help with the website and I could help develop new ideas- being able to do more than one thing is incredibly valuable. That’s not just an economy thing. You can be asked to do alot of things regardless of what job you may end up with. If you are doing marketing for a label, you may get asked to manage a band. Who knows what the hell could be asked of you- just be ready to do it. And try. At the end of the tour, Sarah and Kevin asked me to put together an online marketing plan and timeline for the 15th Anniversary movie. This was in no relation to my pit reporter job, but they wanted me to do it. I haven’t done a marketing plan in real life before- only sorta/kinda in college. I stepped it up, kept doing my pit reporting and figured it out at the same time. I worked double time, but it’s just what you have to do sometimes. Not knowing if they were going to like it or accept it, I put everything into it to prove myself. Turned out well, the accepted it and I got to keep working for them a little longer.

Also, and I feel like this should be labeled as a “disclaimer,” but know what you are getting yourself into. Music may mean your life, but the music industry is something different. I learned that early on. You can do it for the love of the music, believe me, but it’s hard work. And it’s messy….especially considering its current state. Labels are doing 360 deals with bands. If you don’t know what that means, look it up. Radio is struggling. No one is buying CDs. My point is that because not everything makes money like it use to, people can get cut throat to find it. On the flip side, it opens the door for more creative ways to market and brand music. Wether you like it or not, if you want to somehow work in the music industry, you sometimes have to look at music as commodity. A band can only stay a band and get their message out as long as they have the means to do so. A majority of those means is money. If a label doesn’t have money to help a band tour, then that band’s music can’t get everywhere. See what I mean? All of the people who work for Warped Tour love it. It is about music, it is about the bands, it is about the kids- but it can only keep doing it because it funds itself. There’s a bottom line to everything, in every job, and this is no different. It’s just a perspective you have to keep in mind.

I’m not sure what you may or may not get out of this, but this is my story and my take on everything. I honestly do want to help everyone asking because I think it’s vital to keeping the industry alive. You kids are the future for everything. This addiction to music starts when you are a teen- it happened to me at 14. That’s when it hit me that I wanted to make a difference. It takes young, dedicated people to make this all happen. It needs fresh ideas, it needs new life, it needs passion. Unfortunately, some of that can die with age. Obviously not everyone seeing as Kevin has been doing this his entire life and still kicking ass. All I ask is take this with a grain of salt because everyone’s future is going to unfold differently. I’m really looking at this from someone else’s point of view because I realized after thinking about it, I did something similar. I was fortunate enough to have my good friend doing what I wanted. I was able to follow in his foot steps and asked what I needed to. I wish everyone the best of luck in what they want to do, but keep asking questions and keep trying. This Warped Tour thing is the first things I’ve done in this and I may know 2% of how everything really works. I have alot, alot, alot to learn– I am by no means pretending like I understand this world in and out. There are so many pieces of it and so many ways to look at it- this is just my story and that’s all I can offer.

Thanks for all of the support. It’s crazy to hear from people they want to be like you when they grow up. It’s crazy to hear that you are someone’s inspiration. I never thought I’d end up like this. You guys have made my life truly special and hell, I’m just getting started. I hope you all do amazing things.

22 Responses

  1. Thank you so, so much for posting this. I’ve been curious about how you got your job since day one of Warped this year, so I really appreciate you taking the time to write this blog. There are definitely a lot of people who look up to you, and even though I don’t know you that well at all, I can say that I’m proud of you for all the hard work you’ve done to get to where you are now. I can only hope to someday have the opportunity to do half of what you do, only now I have a little more to go on than just hope. Thank you again.

  2. I’m 16 and I’m attempting to get involved more. I’ve been networking. I planned a concert last May. 350 people attended. Mostly from my school. But it was still pretty cool. I know a lot of people in bands. I’ve noticed knowing people really does help. And once you know one band, you’ll meet way more through them. Now I’m helping manage a band. I’ve learned about the bad side of the business already too though. Including the part about most band guys really being assholes.

  3. Tiffany, this is simply amazing, and I thank you for taking the time to write this out for all of us. In the past year and a half I have really gotten into the whole music industry, and this is such an inspiration to me. I have been volunteering and a local venue, and am starting to book some shows there. I go to shows whenever possible, even when it’s all locals. It’s all worth it to me, and as you said, use every opportunity. Next year I plan on transferring to Azusa and majoring in Commercial Music. Again, I thanks for taking the time to write this! You are a true inspiration.1

  4. Tiff! I am so happy you posted this! I would love to get into the music industry, specifically in a band. But I wouldn’t mind a job like yours 🙂 Also, I must say, I do buy songs from iTunes but I buy so many CDs a month. I LOVE records!

  5. Thank you thank you thank you. Its weird that you first realized what you wanted to do at 14, so did I. I was at my first show at Cafe Metropolis Wilkes-Barre , Pa. I knew from then on I wanted to be a part of this. Also, a month after I turned 13, I went to my first Warped, I couldnt get enough. I want it so bad and to prove my parents wrong in doing so. So, basically I just wanted tell you how much I appreciate you writing this. Hopefully I have a chance to work with you in the future.

  6. I’m 13 and a musician. I’ve constantly dreamed of getting into the music industry since I was about 10 years old. I’ve always been extremely fascinated by it.. Thanks to this post, I have an ENTIRE new outlook on how to get involved. Lucky for me, I live right by 3 venues and my dad’s friend is a Grammy winning producer so I have lots of opportunities. Beginning tomorrow, I’m going to give the Culture Room a call so I can get started. Thanks Tiff. Keep up what you’re doing and you’ll always be an inspiration. 🙂

  7. Thank you for taking the time to write this. I’m 17 and a freshman in college. My major is marketing with a minor in photography. I want to work in the music industry on the promotions side of it. I know it’s a tough industry but it’s something I want to do and I would do it for free if I didn’t have to pay bills and such. Anyway, thanks again for writing this. You are an inspiration to me and many others.

  8. Thank you so much for writing this and teaching us many things. Until reading this post, I’d been thinking that i was too young to book shows or do something related to music and I had to wait to do these for a while. But you made me realize that is wrong. Just wishing for something can’t make dreams come true. I have to make a move myself. I’m not goot at doing this so I may have hard times but I’ll try, keeping in my mind what i learned from you:) And I hope that the day would come to report you that I get a job related to music industy someday! Thanks a lot again.

  9. Wow Tiff, I’m 13 and I’ve got a small band in NYC and we just love what we do and this just inspired me and excited me even more to be part of the music industry at such a young age.

  10. I’m 14, and like you I am very interested in music and such. I really like what you’re doing and I hope to be apart of the music world as I get older. Thank you so much for this. So many of my questions here were fully answered. I say you at Warped Tour at Carson LA While Less Than Jake was playing, but from a far far distance. I didnt ge the chance to meet you, but I hope soon that will happen! I really admire who you are and the work you have done. Take care and I hope all is well!
    xoxo

  11. Tiffany, I’d like to thank you for giving your advice. Your story is so great because it makes me feel like I can maybe have a chance at being happy and successful in the music industry someday. I want you to know that your story has inspired me to get involved and help keep the music industry alive. I’m not sure exactly how yet, but I’ll definitely be preparing myself in college next year so I can. 🙂

  12. Thanks so much for posting this! You are totally right with everything you said about how we are the future, that’s why I’m going to work my ass off like you did to try and keep this alive. I’m 15 right now and 14 when I went to my first concert, which happened to be Warped 08. Since then, I’ve been trying to go to as many I can, pushing and squeezing my way to the front of the barricade. The atmosphere at a concert is the best feeling in the world! I want do what I want to do in life and I want to make music my life. I guess I can compare the industry to a crowd at Warped. You gotta push your way for your position and its truly worth it. Tiffany, you really are one of the coolest people I’ve ever known of! Good luck with everything and thanks again! (:

  13. All of my life i’ve grown up listening to my father about the industry. He always tells me to make sure of many things, and to start now and keep going until i get all that i can out of it. Sometimes listening to him ramble can get old, and since he is my father, sadly sometimes i don’t listen to him completely. Although as i took the time to read this, i realized something important. Everything he tells me, you in one way or another mentioned. He was right. Thankyou for helping me realize this. Also, it was really nice reading something like this, and feeling like i understood you. I know what you mean about not just loving the music, but wanting everything soo bad. Striving for it ,really. I’ll take your and my father’s advice to heart, and try the best i can to make it for myself. I will make it for myself. I understand your just a girl who worked for what she wanted, but i honest to god look up to you for what you do. You seriously have my dream job. Good luck with everything, and thankyou!

  14. Tiffany,
    this post is AMAZING!!!!! All this hit me when I was 12. I was a 7th grader, and really beginning to be hit and inspired by music for the first time ever. It was that time when you begin to see, feel, and hear everything behind an amazing song, not just the melody or tune. “Work” by Jimmy Eat World is what did me in. I heard it in my car on the radio one night, became OBSESSED, and 6 months later my cousins were taking me to the Jimmy Eat World/Taking Back Sunday show for my first concert. That’s the night that made me realize I wanted to be involved with music that made me feel the same way theirs did for the rest of my life.

    My story is ridiculosuly close to yours! My freshman year of high school I started managing a band a few of my friends had thrown together, and when we started out, I didn’t know a THING! My uncles all play in a band together, and I asked my aunt (who manages them) to give me some pointers. She always told me to pursue what I thought would be the best, because nothing could happen unless you tried. That’s what kept me going! I managed them for 3 of my 4 years of high school, it taught me sooo much! I was their PR, booking agent, everything! That was amazing, but last year I got the opportunity to produce my first concert, and that was something entirely new!

    It was a benefit for the Invisible Children organization, to raise money to re-build a high school in Uganda. My friend who was the president of the Invisible Children club at my school called me and asked to help plan it all, with only a month before the show! I ended up doing all the logo design, booking, management, and media coordination for the whole show, and put it together in a month.

    Your story has inspired me even more now – like never before!!
    I’m starting out a lot like you did, and the only thing I can hope is that I accomplish what you have someday!! You can go to my WordPress blog (http://thegirlattherockshow.wordpress.com/) find the “Groovin’ For Gulu” page there, or follow a link on the blog to my website and read about the concert from last year. It was a HUGE success for what it was, and I can only hope that it will be bigger this year. Knowing that you did stuff like this and seeing where you are now really helps me believe that I’ll be able to make that happen.
    I know how many hits you’re getting on this, but if you could pleaseee e-mail me back so I could ask you some things about any hints/tips about a show, or about college stuff that’d be AMAZING! I’m huge into photography, and taking AP classes and all that jazz right now, its something I definitely wanna do, but I can’t see my life without event production now. This is all pretty insane because I know you did photo stuff too, you’re pretty much leading my dream life! Haha.
    So if you ever have time to e-mail me so I could ask you some questions thatd be amazing!This is my Senior year of high school, and this concert has been the most fulfilling and amazing thing I’ve ever done. It made me realize what I want to do in life!
    I’m hoping to make this benefit concert 20x better than last years, and if anyone knows how to do it, it seems like that’d be you.

    Thank you SOO much for posting this – you’ve helped make me believe that my dreams are really possible. 🙂

    Xx
    -Maddie

  15. […] This blog on her WordPress page (might I mention, another similarity!) was what got me up and back on my computer tonight. I feel SO inspired!!! […]

  16. Thanks Minkus:] lol this really helps alot because ever since i was in 7th grade i knew i wanted to do something in the music biz. Im looking into recording engineer schools, and my media teacher knows a few people that can help me get started but like you said start asking questions and getting involved really helps:] thanks and your a BIG inspiration! see you next year on warped 10:D

  17. Thank you for posting your this! it helped me a lot. As a teenager that wants to work in the music industry some day it gave me hope to never give up!! Thank you so much!!

  18. Thanks so much for posting this. You seriously have shown that kids can do this. I am currently a junior at Simmons College and I am in search of an internship for next summer. Working for Warped would be my dream internship. I don’t necessarily want to do the pit reporter and I was wondering if you knew of other internships or who I could get in touch with to find out any information. Anything you could pass along would be amazing.

    Thanks! Oh, and I met you briefly at the Connecticut Warped and you were so nice and treated my friends and I like old friends. Thanks for being so rad.

    ~Julianne

  19. […] You want music industry advice? Here’s my shot at it. I get questions just about everyday since I got the Warped Tour pit reporter position. Tons of people ask how I got the […] […]

  20. This was really interesting to read. I’m currently a freshman in college and i’m co-majoring in music business and business. I’ve only been here for about a month and a half and SO many opportunities have presented themselves. I now have a radio show with my school’s station where I get to promote and play whatever I want and I’m already lined up for a job as promotions on the executive board. I’m also in a club called MEISA (Music and Entertainment Industry Student Association), which is nationally recognized. So far, I have gotten offers to help classmates that have been in these clubs for a few years now book shows and set up before a show. So, I certainly agree with everything you’re saying here. Going to college gives you a foot up in the industry for sure. You get opportunities here that you would NEVER get anywhere else, and it’s amazing. Hope to see you around the industry some day. :]

  21. Tiff, you got some serious stuff going on!
    It’s awesome to know you did what you loved,
    and you worked for it, for so long.
    :]

  22. Thank you so much for the words Tiff, it was really interesting for a girl with big dremas. It is good to hear someone say that you can rech your dreams when your young, cause there are so many out there who keep saying that you have to be this or this age to work with music.

    Just a few years ago I opend my eyes for music. I think I was looking for something that I could conect too, and luckily I found it. So it is a huge inspiration to hear someone with the same dream talk about how she got there.

    Thank you.
    love

Leave a comment